Unpopular Opinion

May 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’ve been sitting here this week, debating with myself if I should write/blog about this. About what probably everyone has already written about. The death of Osama Bin Laden.

There was a quote, that turned out it be a fake quote, that summed it up for me quite well. Martin Luther King did say something similar but it still sums up the way I felt.

“I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”

Since this is my little space of the internet, and I can say whatever I want. This is what I’m going to say. I’m not going to tell you what to celebrate. I’m not going to tell you what to be joyous about… BUT? I’m not going to celebrate a person’s death. Even if that person was pure evil. And? I will not be teaching my daughter to celebrate someone’s death.

Watching people on television, on facebook, on twitter celebrate a man’s death so freely broke my heart. I simply will not celebrate violence and death.

Jen from Smiling Heart said it best when she wrote this amazing post. She’s one of my favorite bloggers and her posts are always inspiring. Read it. Open your mind to her words.

There is so much more I can say.. but perhaps for another time.

Tagged: , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Unpopular Opinion at Tutus And Converse.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,413 other followers

